Photo credit: UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe.

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 1267 (1999) and 1989 (2011) concerning Al-Qaida and associated individuals and entities


1267 Committee; al-Qaeda Committee; 1267/1989 Committee


In 1999, the Security Council adopted Resolution 1267, which imposed sanctions against the Taliban for providing sanctuary and training for terrorists, including Osama bin Laden. The resolution also created a committee charged with gathering and reporting on information concerning the implementation of the resolution from member states and designating the specific resources of the Taliban that would be sanctioned. Subsequent resolutions expanded the sanctions to include designated individuals and entities associated with al-Qaeda, wherever those persons or entities may be located. In 2011, the Security Council adopted Resolutions 1988 and 1989, which established two separate lists for designations associated with al-Qaeda and the Taliban. Pursuant to these resolutions, the 1267 Committee, now called the al-Qaeda Sanctions Committee, oversees and maintains the al-Qaeda sanctions list. The Committee holds regular meetings in formal and informal sessions, and makes decisions (including listing or de-listing) by consensus. Any state may request the Committee to consider adding a person or entity to the al-Qaeda sanctions list. The Committee may also receive requests from member states or the U.N. Office of the Ombudsman (established by Resolution 1904) to remove individuals or entities from the sanctions list. Countries may also submit requests to the Committee for exemptions to the sanctions, including humanitarian exemptions. The Committee provides the al-Qaeda sanctions list on its website, and it distributes the list to member states for circulation to domestic bodies, including banks and other financial institutions, airports, intelligence agencies, and charities.


The 15 members of the Security Council make up the Committee.


Entry last updated: February 2015.